Financiers my love

dsc_6450

I love financiers. And I love Paris. I have discovered this exquisitely decadent buttery dessert during my studies in the city of light. I remember buying a small bag of them from the  Kaiser bakery at “rue d’Assas“before going to my morning lectures in the university. I now live far away from Paris but I still enjoy delicious financiers with my afternoon tea.

dsc_6368

This recipe is a delight. The only secret is to prepare the mixture 24 hours before baking and let it rest in the fridge. This is it 🙂

Ingredients for a 23 cm cake pan or 6-8 individual financiers :

  • 120gr butter
  • 120gr icing sugar
  • 45 gr flour
  • 45gr ground almonds
  • 10 gr of honey
  • 40 gr (4 cl) of aloe-vera juice (or orange blossom water)
  • 1 pinch baking powder
  • 3 egg whites

The day before:

  • Heat  the butter in a small saucepan until it turns into a hazelnut color. Do not burn 😉
  • Then filter through a fine sieve and add honey. Keep this mixture on the side.
  • In a bowl, mix the flour, the baking powder, the icing sugar and the ground almonds with a whisk.
  • Gradually add the egg whites, the honey-butter mixture and finally the aloe-vera juice (or the orange blossom water).
  • Keep the final mixture at least 24 hours in the fridge.

The baking day :

  • Preheat the oven to 180 ° C.
  • Pour the mixture into your molds small or large without filling to the top (max 3/4 because it will expand during cooking).
  • Bake up to 35 min for the 23 cm cake pan and up to  20 minutes for the individual financiers. You will know that they are cooked when turning into a caramel color.

DSC_7299.jpg

Enjoy 🙂

3 thoughts on “Financiers my love

  1. I have been surfing on-line greater than 3 hours nowadays, yet I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing
    article like yours. It is pretty price enough for me. In my view,
    if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you
    probably did, the internet can be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

